Is this American Justice ?

Uvebruce
5 min readMay 2, 2021
Photo in the public domain and on public record – CAMERON HERRIN REACTS THE MOMENT HE HEARS HIS SENTENCE – 24 YEARS IN PRISON

* Since writing this, Anna Sacoolas has received a suspended sentence for murder while Cameron remains incarcerated for 24 years, less time spent. His appeals so far have fallen on deaf ears.

A post arrived on my FYP on TikTok yesterday and the image of this young man haunts me. I cannot get this 21 year old boy’s frightened eyes out of my head. Can you imagine his hell in federal USA prison?

Cameron Herron, an 18 year old “boy”, ploughed into and killed a mother and her daughter while street car racing at over 100 miles per hour. There are no excuses. This is an appalling and terrible tragedy that just shouldn’t happen. But it did. And sadly in this imperfect world, it happens more often than we would like.

I have 4-children and an amazing wife. I would be devastated if this happened to me or my family – either as the victim or if MY son was the perpetrator.

I look at this clean cut young man standing before a judge and being told he is to serve 24-years for his actions. His sentence is longer than he’s lived on the planet. His life is ruined.

Imagine how he processes what he’s done. His sleepless nights. It’s an awful sentence on his family and his young life … even before the judge orders him to serve 24-years. His family sit behind him in Court – clearly a loving, good, supportive American…

--

--

Uvebruce

Brand Nerd. Waiting for the fat lady to sing ! Dyslexic - is it there or their. Passionate about making time to just think!! Sadly thinking hasn’t helped much.